Methodist North President Receives Distinguished Alumni Award from Murray State University

Posted on: April 11, 2018

Dr. Florence Jones, president of Methodist North Hospital, is one of four outstanding Murray State alumni to receive the 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award, which will be presented during the Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner on April 27 at the CFSB Center in Murray, Kentucky. 

Jones, a 1975 nursing alumna, has served more than 25 years in the healthcare industry and has broken through countless barriers of gender and race throughout her years of experience. Jones has established a reputation for collaborative and inspirational leadership during her career. Among her many professional accomplishments, she also served the U.S. as a first lieutenant in the Army Nurse Corps for the United States Army Reserve from 1977–1980.

Established in 1962, the Distinguished Alumni Award is presented annually to alumni who have made meaningful contributions to their professions on a local, state and national level. This award is the highest honor an alumnus could receive from the Murray State Alumni Association and stands to recognize alumni who have excelled personally and professionally. Among the recipients of the award are Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists and renowned authors, research scientists and physicians, executives, educators, military leaders and Emmy Award-winning broadcasters.

Prior to becoming president of Methodist North, Jones previously served as chief nursing officer and interim president for Methodist North and chief nursing officer for Methodist South.

Before joining Methodist Healthcare in 2008, Jones held leadership positions in healthcare systems across the southeast including serving as chief administrative officer and CNO for Delta Regional Medical Center in Greenville Miss., COO for Putnam Community Medical Center in Palatka, Fla., COO for River Region Healthcare in Vicksburg, Miss.

Jones earned a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Murray State University, a master’s degree in nursing administration from the University of Evansville and a Doctorate of Nursing Practice from Union University. She is a licensed registered nurse (RN); Nurse Executive, Advanced- Board Certified (NEA-BC); former board examiner for the Tennessee Center for Performance Excellence and Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives (FACHE).

All of the recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award will have an opportunity to speak about their professional experiences and memories of Murray State during the awards dinner. The banquet is open to the public and tickets are available for $50 at