Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare Leader Receives 2019 Great Place to Work® Innovator of the Year Award

Posted on: February 27, 2019


Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare’s Katie McLean, Outpatient Pharmacy manager for Methodist University Hospital, was recognized by Great Place to Work® as one of the top ten innovators for its 2019 Innovator of the Year awards. The recipients were honored during Great Place to Work’s second annual Leadership Awards Summit hosted in San Francisco. McLean is one of 56 innovation award recipients selected from organizations named on FORTUNE’s annual list of the 100 Best Companies to Work For, 100 Best Workplaces for Women, 100 Best Workplaces for Diversity, or 150 Best Small and Medium Companies to Work For.

“I truly enjoy identifying an opportunity, strategizing who are the best collaborators to help make that opportunity a reality, and then coming together to figure out the solution,” said McLean.

McLean was nominated for being an innovation leader at Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare. She has submitted a number of ideas to the Power of One Idea program, which offers tangible rewards for Associates who submit innovative ideas that will advance patient care, reduce costs or add revenue.  Over the last three years she has received approval for 12 cost saving and revenue generating ideas with a combined impact of over $800,000. 

“Innovation is one of Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare’s core values,” said Carol Ross-Spang, chief human resources officer for Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare. “Katie casts a great shadow as a leader who is personally willing to create positive change, be curious and collaborative, and openly seek new approaches to improve every life we touch.”

In recognizing the honorees, Great Place to Work CEO Michael C. Bush said “We are honored to celebrate your shining examples of Innovation By All—the individuals and teams who have successfully created new products or built more inclusive cultures, and who have led their organizations to more fully maximize the human potential within their workforce.”

The complete list of honorees is available here: