Awards and Recognition

Pharmacy-Awards-Photo-450At Methodist, the core values of service, quality, integrity, teamwork, and innovation are evident across our pharmacy department. Our department and pharmacists have been recognized for excellence across the profession, serving as exemplary role models for residents in our program.

Recent Awards

2018 American Society of Health System Pharmacists Excellence in Residency Training Program Award Winner – Methodist University Hospital PGY1 Pharmacy Residency

2017 Tennessee Society of Health System Pharmacists Residency Program of the Year

Methodist University Hospital Department of Pharmacy – 2016 Winner, Tennessee Society of Health System Pharmacists Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award for 100 Beds or More

Jennifer Twilla, PharmD, BCPS – 2016 Winner Tennessee Society of Health Systems Pharmacists Pharmacist of the Year Award

(photo on top right) Jennifer Twilla (left) and Chris Finch (right) accepting awards on behalf of the Methodist Healthcare Pharmacy Department at the 2016 Tennessee Pharmacists Association Annual Meeting.

(photo on bottom right) Jennifer Twilla receiving award from TPA and TSHP Presidents at recent TSHP Annual Meeting. 


Methodist Healthcare Pharmacy Residency Awards Program

The Methodist Healthcare Excellence in Pharmacy Residency Training awards program was created to recognize excellence and leadership in various areas of pharmacy resident training. Our awards program honors residents and preceptors who embody the Methodist core values.   The program was formally established in 2015 - 2016 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of residency training at Methodist Healthcare.

MLH Pharmacy Residency Mission, Vision, Values Award  

Award recognizes a pharmacy resident who most embodies the five core values our organization: service, quality, innovation, of teamwork and integrity.  The resident selected has demonstrated throughout the year their dedication to supporting our pharmacy department’s mission and going the extra mile for the team. 

2015 - Ryan E. Owens (PGY1)
2016 - Neil A. Roe (PGY2 Critical Care)
2017 - Samarth Shah (PGY2 Internal Medicine)
2018 – Chelsea Mitchell (PGY1)

Preceptor of the Year Award

Award recognizes a preceptor who has significantly contributed to the personal and professional growth of our residents. Recipients of this award have demonstrated the ability to motivate, coach, mentor, and educate residents throughout their postgraduate training. The PGY1 and PGY2 residency classes select this award in conjunction with the Director of Pharmacy.


University Hospital - Heather Snyder, PharmD, BCPS
Germantown Hospital - David Shoop, PharmD, BCPS

University Hospital - Megan VanBerkel, PharmD, BCPS
Germantown Hospital - Tara Parish, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP

University Hospital – Sami Sakaan, PharmD, BCPS
Germantown Hospital – Meredith Gilbert – Plock, PharmD, BCPS


University Hospital – G. Morgan Jones, PharmD, BCCCP, FCCM
Germantown Hospital – Susan Wheelis, PharmD, BCOP