Nurses of the Year Honored at Annual Event

Published On 05/14/2010

Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare (MLH) recognizes outstanding nurses at the Nursing Stars Celebration, held annually during National Nurses’ Week. The event recognizes the exceptional women and men who define the patient and family-centered care MLH is committed to providing. This year’s celebration was held at the Memphis Hilton.

Nursing Stars are selected from each Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare facility. From the Nursing Stars, one Nurse of the Year is chosen from each facility, and recognized at the ceremony. Candidates are nominated by their peers based on the following criteria: professionalism, interpersonal relations, community involvement, innovation, patient and family-centered care, and the science of nursing.

The 2010 MLH Nurses of the Year are: (back row, l-r) Michelle Harris - Le Bonheur, Donna Adams - Fayette, Amy Duncan - Affiliated. (Front row, l-r) Peggy Hoffman - North, Carolyn Lawrence - South, Jackie Brown - MECH, Tonya Warmbrod - University, Karen Overal - Germantown.